Tags

, , , , ,

Needlecraft is a hobby, an art form and a medium of preserving a part of history. Various forms of needlecraft include cross-stitch, crochet, knitting and latch hook. Needlecraft involves the making of doilies, tablecloths, napkins, bridal veils, bassinet covering, and infant wear among other crafted items.

In my book collecting, I’ve managed to acquire a set of books titled:
“The WorkBasket-Home and Needlecraft for Pleasure and Profit”, also a pamphlet titled “32 Good Ideas on Handicraft and Needlework” and a booklet titled “Home Decorating” showing the end-product of needlework along with step-by-step instructions on making tablecloths, napkins and doilies. All of these publications will soon be sold in my etsy store GenreReads.

I have a color illustrated book in my personal collection titled “Practical and Needful-Dutch Lace Schools 1850-1940” authored by Patricia Wardle. The work of Mrs. van der Meulen, a pioneer in lacemaking, included organizing salons for the purpose of studying lace, then later, held a position in the teaching of lacemaking in the Netherlands. Mrs. van der Meulen is also responsible for having written ‘Kant’ (published in 193) and ‘Lace’ (published in 193).

The type of needlecraft that I have best mastered is cross-stitiching. One of my sisters did latch hooking when her oldest child was an infant and a toddler. My other sister has mastered knitting, which I find impressive since knitting for me didn’t come that easily. I like cross-stitching because it’s easy for me to continue a project where I left off and the project i’m working on is usually so easily portable because the supplies are lightweight.

Handmade crafts as a hobby and a means of practicality have made a resurgence worldwide that many people are enjoying.

